annoytheleft

Acknowledgement and Thanks

In Media on February 22, 2011 at 10:47 am

R.S. McCain, of the blog The Other McCain, does a great service to neophyte bloggers like myself in his post titled How To Get A Million Hits On Your Blog In Less Than A Year. A taste of the post:

Having promised an appropriate celebration of passing the 1-million-visitors Site Meter threshold Friday, I will do so by sharing the secret of my success. It’s the Underpants Gnome Theory of Blogging:

  • Phase 1: Get a Blogspot account.
  • Phase 2: ?
  • Phase 3: One million visitors!

Obviously, the key here is Phase 2, which has been exceptionally disorganized. Some guys work smart. Some guys work hard. Some guys are just incredibly lucky.

Headline link featured on The Other McCain

In the “How To Get A Million Hits” post, McCain sets forth a list of blogging principles, presented as rules, that all but guarantee blogging success. My site traffic is an indication that I’m not much of a rule follower (and at least one of the rules… would have me in the dog house).

Rule two in R.S. McCain’s blogging playbook, however, is one that I’ve always tried to adhere to and which today I will redouble my efforts in practicing. That is: the art of reciprocal linkage.

You see, yesterday I passed my single day site view record set back in September, 2010. This is due, in part, to graciously hosted links to my blog from McCain as well as from Professor Bill Jacobson at Le-gal In-sur-rec-tion.

Legal Insurrection "Blogs To Note"

Professor Jacobson is an Associate Professor of Clinical Law at Cornell Law School and a pillar of the conservative blogosphere. It was in Jacobson’s post, Obamacare Starts Early in Madison, that I first saw the word “fraud” used in conjunction with doctor’s notes given out to protesters in Madison. He’s also caused me to re-think my position on medical tort reform. I’m not sure that I’ve forgiven him for that, but I have to admit that he’s right.

Of course, there are bloggers who are more faithful adherents to rule 2 than I and it is a pleasure to recommend, to all fourteen of my readers, King Shamus, who is not only a generous link-er but a scrupulous re-tweeter, Nonsensible Shoes and No One of Any Import. Salt of the earth, all three are, even if one is Canukistani.

A heartfelt thanks to all of these guys for making blogging fun, thereby easing the burden of political rants borne by my Facebook friends.

  1. From Canukistan, thanks for the mention!

    I have to say I never understood Robert’s step two but I should consider some sort of reciprocal linkage strategy since I’m nowhere near my peak traffic from a couple of years ago. Maybe it’s the exchange rate…

    • I haven’t done much begging when I link someone but I HAVE done it. I think I tweeted it at Stacy.

      You’re probably right about the exchange rate, though.

  2. Hey! How the hell did you get Legal Insurrection to notice you????

    I gotta take more notes on this whole thang

    LOL

    PS You had me with your Gravatar

    • I said something smart-ass once (prolly ’cause I’d been influenced by Shamus) and it got Prof. Jacobson’s attention and landed me in his “blog of the day” spot. I nearly pee’d my kilt. Not sure when I was added to “Blogs of Note” but the clicks started showing up in my stats recently.

      Glad you like the Gravatar. I’m an honorary “Boinger.” If I ever get a tattoo, that will be it.

  3. I hope I follow rule 2 in it’s nature by adding the blogs I follow and like to my blog role. I still don’t quite have thwe hang of including an url itself in my posts, but I make darn sure to give any site credit due.

    BTW: Found out about your site from Dean_L’s Nonsensibleshoes. you have a great site!

  4. Dude, I have always done my best to be Mr. Bad Example. ;-p

    Seriously man, thank you very much for the shout-out. I appreciate it. You do great work here and your wise-assness resonates with my own bullshittery. How could I not link to you?

Leave a Reply

