annoytheleft

Dear G.O.P.

In Conservative, Republican, Tea Party on December 30, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Dear Republican Party,

If you nominate Mike Huckabee or Mitt Romney in 2012 I will officially disown you. I will disregard all warnings against supporting a third party. I will throw all the weight I have behind the most conservative, probably Libertarian, candidate that I can find and I’ll drag as many voters with me as I can muster. I can assure you that I won’t be the only one to do this.

If I may offer one bit of advice, it is this: Do not assume that the Tea Parties were your midterm lackeys, a mere stepping-stone in your re-ascent to power. It won’t work that way this time. You, as a party, will be accountable for the victory that we’ve handed you. Yes, we gave it to you. Do not squander the gift and the trust that it implies. You have had two years to gather your agenda items and we’ve made it clear what we want:

  • Repeal Obamacare
  • Allow interstate competition in health insurance
  • Tort reform
  • Secure borders
  • Enforce existing immigration laws

It’s best, dear G.O.P., that you consider 2011 and 2012 a probationary period. Behave accordingly.

  1. So who would you like to see nominated instead of Huckabee or Romney?

    • Don’t know yet. There are a couple of guys who look promising but we’ve really not met many yet. Mostly it’s rumblings from the cast of clowns we met in ’08 and we KNOW those guys already.

  2. Very good. I agree whole heartedly. Who is there to represent the normal, sane people? Republican party, you’d better get off your political asses and find us someone we want to get behind and support!

  3. Welcome back! Haven’t seen you post in a while. Well put, but I’d caution you to observe how a split on the right can undermine conservatism. In Canada a split conservative movement cost a decade of lost time. I agree with the sentiment but I’d advise that trying to defeat the candidates you dislike in the primaries should be a priority first.

    As I’ve advocated in the past, a Tea Party at the Congressional swearing in would have served as a good reminder to the GOP that they can’t coast to 2012.

    • Of course the fight is in the primaries but, failing success there, if the conservative party isn’t putting up conservative candidates what difference does it make if they’re undermined?

  4. […] blog-homie Annoy The Left returns from hiatus with a warning: Dear Republican […]

  5. Hey! You resurfaced!

    Yep, I’ll sign yer letter.

    Chris Christie, we need you!

    • Yeah, I emerged from my burrow. If I see my shadow it’s four more years of Obama so it’s risky…

      Christie looks promising. His Second Amendment chops are unsavory but it’s not like he’ll be penning legislation…

Leave a Reply

